It has been way too long

As you can see it has been months (ok over a year ) since I wrote. I`m always afraid of writing because I know it will rehash a lot.

I'm not sure if I want to get into it all, but I am at work and I swear, I‘ve been rethinking my career choice. I love the students but I swear everything else is a disaster.

We have to deal with parents that are RUDE and DEMANDING like I only have their kid. I teach over 180 students in a year.

Things are happeneing now with the school system and I`m not sure I can handle the changes. It is just so much. I’ve never felt this way in September. NEVER!

I want to change careers. I keep looking up jobs online! It is painful. I just feel that the career I chose 20 years ago is no longer the same. I mean lets be honest. It wasnt like a dream job with an amazing salary but it was better than now. Now the world is changing and we are asked so much! WE have to watch EVERY word we say. I have a colleague who told a student nice haircut and was met by the principal. The student didn‘t like being told that. REALLY?! Nice haircut is now harassment. It has become very difficult. If you want to teach history, you have to choose carefully what to teach because they cant handle certain terms.... BUT IT IS HISTORY! I swear I‘m not that old but I just feel like I cant handle this anymore. I know one day someone will make a complaint about something I said.... It is not because I am inappropriate, racist, or rude... I just dont know anymore what is unacceptable. Am I the only one in this boat!?

Teaching has become painful. I know that if I talk about everything that is bothering me and it gets out…I would lose my job… So discouraging that we cant do a job that I used to LOVE to do due to parents, system, school boards, administrations....I Just cant.

Leave a comment