Catastrophic Brain Bleed

So It has been 3 weeks since my dad passed away.

Suddenly.

Unexpected.

Yes he had Alzheimer’s, but it was at the stage of asking the same question 2-3 times.

Maybe he was unable to focus on TV shows like he used to.

Anyways, bottom line, he was healthy.

My mom found him making loud noises, and limp. She tried to wake him and his head would flop.

I got a call telling me 911 was called and we are waiting. Dad is in bad shape. I get dressed and want to drive over.

I get another call saying I think Dad is dying…he might actually be dead.

Wait they are taking him to the hospital. He’s breathing.

Thank goodness, it’s probably a diabetic coma (still bad news) or a heat attack (very bad news) but he can come out of this….

At the hospital they tell us he had a catastrophic brain bleed and his body will slowly shut down. There is nothing to do. They put us in a small room with him since hospitals are full due to COVID and we watched our dad pass away.

A strong man who had accomplished so much in his life. Raised kids and made sure they were strong people. Started his life again in a new country because his homeland was taken from him. Learning 2 languages, building business and teaching us how to be upstanding citizens. Being an overall good father. I mean what else can we ask for. We sat by his side while he took his last breathes and his body gave out.

I still have not come to terms with it. I am still in shock. Within 4 hours my father was gone. The day before he was healthy. No signs of anything. No fall, no headaches no nothing….

I honestly think I cannot grasp what has happened. I am numb and I am confused. I can’t imagine this larger than life person no longer being there.

I know my parents, or anyone for that matter, will not live forever….but just the suddeness and the lack of understanding of what happened.

People keep telling me what a peaceful way to die. Yeah…but it doesn’t change that I don’t have a father anymore.

Leave a comment